in the spotlight: taylor kurta

hi, it’s me again, back from the dead of the busyness of summer and all settled in for a new school year. i would like to introduce yet another segment of my blog, in the spotlight. rather than talking about music, or about artists that i regretfully do not know in person, this time round i will be sitting in my chair – laptop and phone nearby – personally interviewing some very talented musicians that i am lucky to meet or get in touch with.

the first musician to do the honours, award-winning singer-songwriter: taylor kurta.

Taylor Kurta
“Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, Taylor Kurta picked up a guitar at a young age and began composing songs filled with depth and meaning. Realizing music would play a large role in her life, Taylor attended and graduated from Seneca College’s Independent Music Production Program (IMP). In 2011 she was awarded a demo award from FACTOR and began her journey as a recording artist. Only 2 years later, Taylor was awarded the RBC Emerging Artist Music Mentorship Prize through Canada’s Walk of Fame (2013). Taylor has a clear focus of who she is as an artist. She is confident that her unique voice and songwriting style will find a niche audience that falls somewhere between that of Serena Ryder and Lana Del Ray.” – taylorkurta.com

taylor recently released her first EP, Start All Over. take a listen below:


How would you describe your style/your sound?
I would describe my music as pop/soul with a little sprinkle of country.

Where do you take your inspiration from?
I get my best inspiration from past experiences and I write a lot about situations that left me feeling really hurt. I feel like sadness is a very strong emotion and best translates through song. I also really enjoy writing about people who have hurt me.

What are you hoping to achieve with your music?
I am hoping to write music that is able to connect with people. I hope that when people listen to my EP they will say, “This happened to me.” I want them to be able to relate my songs to something in their life. I feel like if I can do that then I have done my job as an artist.

Who are your musical heroes?
Where do I begin? My biggest inspirations would have to be Ray Charles and Etta James. Their ability to convey that much emotion through their songs has always been a huge inspiration for me. Another huge influence would have to be Serena Ryder. I first heard her in grade nine and fell in love with the whole powerful female singer/songwriter vibe.

Do you have a favourite song from your EP?
I do! My favourite song is Start All Over. I wrote it after a really devastating breakup and it helped me get through it. It’s about what you would do differently if you could go back in time and change certain things that you regret. It’s also the only acoustic song on the EP. It was really important that I have at least one song that had just a guitar and vocal track.

Name one song that you think best describes yourself.
Probably I’m on Fire by Bruce Springsteen. I have bright red hair that often resembles fire.

Tell us about how your EP came together.
Back in 2013 I got awarded Canada’s Walk of Fame Emerging Artist. Through them, I got my whole EP funded along with the opportunity to work with Canadian legends like The Tragically Hip and Triumph. It was such an incredible experience and I got to work in some of Canada’s best studios. I had an amazing time working on this project and I hope to record a full length in the next few years.

here is the music video for taylor’s single that started it all, See What I See.

 

links

click here for more information on her 2013 win – canada’s walk of fame
connect with taylor: facebook | twitter | instagram

Start All Over
Purchase on iTunes
Purchase on CD Baby
Stream on Spotify


personal note: thank you so much for taking your time to share with both myself and my readers. looking forward to new heart-felt pieces by you! all the best, thia.

if you have any further questions you would like to ask, or any suggestions, please feel free to comment below (the comment box doesn’t bite, i promise)

